PRESS

Feb 18-23rd, 2009. Russ Bickerstaff writes two blogposts about BERZERK!!!

Feb 17th, 2009. Damien Jaques mentions the existance of BERZERK!!!

Dec 30th, 2008. Paint the Town reviewed on the road.

July 22nd, 2008. Jaymee Sherman reviews Systems for Vital Source.

July 17th, 2008. Burt Wardall reviews Paint the Town for Vital Source.

July 15th, 2008. Russ Bickerstaff reviews Paint the Town for The Shepherd.

July 4th, 2008. Russ Bickerstaff blogs about Systems.

July 5th, 2008. Russ Bickerstaff interviews Rex Winsome.

July, 2008. Artsy Schmartzy previews Paint the Town.

June, 2008. Russ Bickerstaff previews Paint the Town.

June 18th, 2008. Artsy Schmartzy starts a debate!

May 20th, 2008. Unofficial PIAD 3 Review.

May 14th, 2008. Russ Bickerstaff reviews Play in a Day 3.

April 25, 2008. Russ Bickerstaff reviews Cracks in the Floor and 31.

April 24, 2008. MKE Magazine asks us to pitch our show.

April 16, 2008. Russ Bickertaff previews Cracks in the Floor and 31.

April 15, 2008. Russ Bickertaff interviews Wes Tank for Cracks in the Floor.

March 28, 2008. Bus Rickertaff runs into us, on the bus no less!

March, 2008. Jonathan West adapts Berzerk!!! script into short film.

March 27, 2008. Jonathan West interviews us for his Big Mouth Artsy Schmartsy Podcast.

March 2008. Russ Bickerstaff pre-views Ides of March Dance off on his blog.

March 2008. Rex Winsome quoted on Artsy Schmartzy

Jan 29 2008. Artsy Schmartzy muses about 8 1/2 x 11.

Jan 2008. Russ Bickerstaff discusses 8 1/2 x 11, on his Shepherd Express blog.

Jan 2008. Vital Source Online publishes this review of Berzerk!!!

Jan 10 2008. The Onion AV Club recommends Berzerk!!!

Jan 2008. Artsy Schmartzy participates in Berzerk!!!

Jan 10 2008. Russ Bickerstaff previews Berzerk!!! in the Shepherd Express.

Dec 13 2007. Russ Bickerstaff mentions Insurgent as a solution to stagnant local theatre.

Dec 6 2007. Russ Bickerstaff writes for 8 1/2 x 11.

Oct 18, 2007. MKE Magazine includes us in their cover article on Milwaukee Arts Collectives.

Oct, 2007. Artsy Schmartzy upstages us.

Sept 22nd, 2007. Rex Winsome rants against Shakespeare on the nightly news.

Aug 8, 2007. Artzy Schmartzy meets Lucky and Pozzo.

July 22, 2007. Vital Source Online reviews Play in a Day.

July 5, 2007. The Shepherd Express publishes a review of Made in the Mouth.

July 2007. Shepherd Express previews Made in the Mouth.

June 2007. MKE previews Made in the Mouth.

January 2007. Vital Source Online reviews Golden Apollo.

December, 2006. Vital Source Online reviews Gorilla Theatre: Berzerk.

October 14, 2006. Someone talks about Lucky and Pozzo in their blog.

September 23, 2006. VLAD!! Watch the slideshow, he's there!

August 24, 2006. Jonathan West (Bialystock and Bloom) tells MKE magazine that we want to take over the world.

June, 2006. OnMilwaukee says you should know us.

May 18, 2006. Mke Magazine publishes a profile of Ben and Tracy, regarding our efforts with INSURGENT THEATRE.

May 11, 2006. The Shepherd Express publishes a review of The Plight of the Ruling Class.

May 1, 2006. Vital Source Online publishes a review of The Plight of the Ruling Class.

April 27, 2006. The Shepherd Express publishes a preview of The Plight of the Ruling Class.

July 25, 2005. OnMilwaukee.com publishes an article about The Astor Theatre that includes an interview about None of These is Nothing.

January 2005. Riverwest Currents publishes a preview of Bring the War Home.

January 2005. The Shepherd Express publishes an interview about Bring the War Home.

January 19, 2005. OnMilwaukee.com publishes a piece on Bring the War Home.

September 1 2003. The Vital Source publishes a review of ReVerb.


September 1, 2003. The Vital Source publishes this piece on ReVerb.

[the following in an excerpt from a larger piece]
Originally published 09/01/03 in Vital Source.

The Devil Made Them Do It...

So I get an invitation to review a play I've heard nothing about — and my spies are everywhere! I head down to Bucketworks on North Third, and get another surprise.

REVERB, a rewrite of Jean-Paul Sarte's NO EXIT, turned out to be creative and different. Three dissimilar people, after an untimely demise, have met with eternal damnation. Hell isn't what they expect though. Locked in a sparsely furnished room are the Punk Rocker/Anarchist, the Yuppie Lesbian, and the insecure Valley Girl. They fight, argue, plead, try to have sex, but whatever they do, it doesn't change their situation, which is very much their own creation. Hell is each other's company, forever. It featured creative multimedia production values and remarkable performances by Meghan Reid as Moranna, the yuppie lesbo, and first-time actor Darrel Cherney as punker Joe Garcin. I don't often find myself engrossed with characters I despise, and I got curious about the production company behind it.

S-Martkino is the twenty-something duo of Ben Turk and Tracy Doyle. Involved in the past in performance art and riot poetry (what's that?), REVERB is their first stage venture. So what exactly is S-Martkino?

Said Ben, "We're a bunch of entrepreneurial commies." From Burlington, Ben Turk is a political science student at UW-Milwaukee; Racine native Tracy Doyle a former microbiology student. Tracy has worked with Madison's controversial Broom Street Theater, and admits to being influenced by them. "Broom Street is not theater people" she asserted. While he had no previous stage background, Ben "... wants more people to come to theater, I think it's just an amazing medium to get your message across." For REVERB, they changed Sarte's original characters. When questioned, Ben began describing the play as a "... vulgarization, a tongue in cheek stab at those who consider Sarte a genius. He was, but all things should be updated. Sarte himself did not think things are sacred."

"It's a manic-depressive play, up and down, up and down," said Tracy. "We used the multimedia approach when the characters were describing events back on earth, to show they were lying about what was happening." Describing the odd ending, Tracy continued: "We wanted to end it with ambiguity — wanted the audience to wait for more. It makes the audience suffer a little bit, and that's nice, we want that to happen. The characters are in hell, but you're still alive, so you're a little more comfortable. We also used a porous fourth wall — when the door to Hell opens, you can see backstage. The question arises, is Joe going to leave Hell, or is Darryl going to leave the play? Which reality are we in?" She also revealed an odd detail. The after-play dance party they held every night never really took off. Something about existentialism kills the mood?

Talk about three boards and a passion! REVERB closed August 3, but more is promised. "We're thinking of a 'choose your own adventure play'," said Ben. "The audience decides which room of several they would choose to keep the storyline going." Keep me posted.